On Friday, January 27th I met my oncologist. His name is Dr. Higgins from the Credit Valley Hospital. He is very nice. He told me more information from my tumour biopsy that I did not know of.- My cancer is Estrogen positive, Progesterone positive, and HER2 negative. This is all good news. This means my cancer is estrogen driven, so I will be on hormone blockers for at least 5 years. I will do well with treatment.

Below is a more in depth explanation..


Hormone Receptor-Positive Breast Cancer

About 80% of all breast cancers are “ER-positive.” That means the cancer cells grow in response to the hormone estrogen. About 65% of these are also “PR-positive.” They grow in response to another hormone, progesterone.
If your breast cancer has a significant number of receptors for either estrogen or progesterone, it’s considered hormone-receptor positive.

Tumors that are ER/PR-positive are much more likely to respond to hormone therapy than tumors that are ER/PR-negative.

You may have hormone therapy after surgery, chemotherapy, and radiation are finished. These treatments can help prevent a return of the disease by blocking the effects of estrogen. They do this in one of several ways.

  • The medication tamoxifen (Nolvadex) helps stop cancer from coming back by blocking hormone receptors, preventing hormones from binding to them. It’s sometimes taken for up to 5 years after initial treatment for breast cancer.

In addition to hormone receptors, some breast cancers have high levels of a growth-promoting protein called HER2/neu. If a tumor has this property, it is called HER2-positive. HER2 positive cancers are more aggressive than HER2 negative cancer.- I have negative, so mine isn’t as aggressive.


Saturday flew by. Andrews family and a couple friends came over.
It was nice to see everyone and to keep my mind occupied with other things.

Sunday, January 29th was an emotional day. I cried going to sleep, I cried waking up, I cried all day. I went into my closet and looked at all my dresses and nice shirts and cried. I cried on my closet floor, I looked at all these nice outfits and thought about how weird they will all look on me with one boob. My thought are dark and negative. I am scared.

Leave a Reply

